The global gelatin market was 403,000 tons in 2015 and the forecast is 485,000 tons in 2020. Only 3% or approximately 15,000 tons are Halal, grossly insufficient to cater for the 24% of the world population who are Muslims. Back in Malaysia, there is no producer of Halal Gelatin at all.
We are promoting halal gelatin globally. Gelatin is made from the skin, bones, and connective tissue of animals. There are no truly vegan or vegetarian gelatin sources.